Forum

Rim fire decision?,...

Notifications
Clear all

Rim fire decision?, .17hmr, .22lr,.22wmr etc  

Andrewmckee
(@andrewmckee)
Active Member Registered

Hi guys, I’m quite new to club , so I’d like to say ?, I’ve been looking into rimfire rifles and as not sure on exact calibre I’d like. Found the sako quad which would give me option of four calibre, just wanted to know if going to lose accuracy by changing barrels. Would also be nice if any members have used this rifle? thanks in advance

Andrew mckee

Posted : April 17, 2020 9:52 pm
safeshooter
(@safeshooter)
Trusted Member Moderator

Welcome aboard Andrew.
I dont know enough about the Sako Quad or 17hmr to comment though I feel that a barrel change (calibre wise) will have some effect on basic accuracy as each calibre has its own nuances. Ammunition does of course along with the ability of the shooter. But the Sako Quad is an excellent choice, superb rifles all round, well built. Perhaps @rossco or @stevo can help out here with some wisdom, Im certain @rossco had a sako Quad Range in .22!

Thanks for posting.

"it's a Fuster Cluck!"

ReplyQuote
Posted : April 17, 2020 11:00 pm
Stevo
(@stevo)
Eminent Member Registered Registered

What would be the intended use ? Will the rifle be primarily for target / club .

or will be be used as a pest control/ hunting ? 
or all of the above? 

with regard to the rifle your be hard pressed to pick a bad Sako off the shelf . Although the quad would not be my choice . 

It will however Out shoot  most that get behind one . 

as so far a calibre goes . If club target is your primary use then I would recommend the .22 LR 

another consideration would be that if you intend to use the .17HMR keep in mind that to date AFAIK There is NO target ammunition available there is only a ballistic tip ( frangible  )  or hollow point ( expanding ) there is no solid tip .